News You Can Use
3-Day Back-to-School Sales Tax Holiday
Save money on school supplies and clothes for your family:
Florida’s 3-Day Back-to-School Sales Tax Holiday runs from August 5 through 7, 2016. During this sales tax holiday period, Florida law directs that no sales tax or local option tax (also known as discretionary sales surtax), will be collected on purchases of:
- Clothing, footwear, and certain accessories selling for $60 or less per item, and
- Certain school supplies selling for $15 or less per item.
Plan now to do your back to school shopping during this 3 day back to school holiday.
This holiday does not apply to:
- Any item of clothing selling for more than $60;
- Any school supply item selling for more than $15;
- Books that are not otherwise exempt;
- Personal computers and computer-related accessories;
- Rentals or leases of any of these items; or
- Sales of clothing or school supplies in a theme park, entertainment complex, public lodging establishment, or airport.
Further information may be found at The Florida Department of Revenue web site.