Both spouses must apply for a marriage license in person. There is no residency or citizenship requirement. All applicants must show valid photo identification. Applicants 16-17 years old must show a birth certificate with parent’s name and a parental consent form. This form for written consent can be found on the Clerk’s websites. If either party has been divorced or widowed they must know the month, day and year the marriage ended.
All applicants must read The Family Law Handbook that is provided at time of license application.
A deputy clerk can perform a marriage ceremony immediately after the license is issued, if the spouses have taken a four-hour premarital course. There is no other waiting period for those who have taken the course. The courses are given in person and online, and can be completed in one day.
All Florida residents must take the course, or wait three days for a license to become valid. This does not apply to nonresidents. Marriage ceremonies must be performed within 60 days of a license being issued. You can get married in any county in Florida, regardless of where you obtained your marriage license.
License fees: $93.50 or $61 with completion of premarital course.
Effective October 1, 2014, the Pasco County Court Clerk no longer performs Marriage ceremonies. Since a Federal judge ruled that all Florida counties must issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples, Baker, Clay, and Duval counties will no longer perform any marriage ceremonies. Check with your local Court Clerk as to whether the Clerk will perform marriage ceremony.